Jewish shoarma

WP_20150721_001 WP_20150721_003

Shoarma is one of my favorite meaty meals. I loved it, since my first trip to Egypt. What I am showing you here today is shoarma made Jewish way. Why Jewish? Well, I’ve got a Jewish friend from and she gave me that recipe, telling me that it was brought to Europe by some Jewish immigrants in the 19th century and has been used untill nowadays. Still, not many people know that flavor. It isn’t typical shoarma you can order at the kebab restaurant somewhere in the streets. I know because I am a big fan of kebab, kabob, shoarma and such. This one tastes bit different. The quantity and variety of spices used here, make this meal Jewish. The amount of spices can look intimidating, but at the end it is worth it. Trust me. In the original recipe it should be served inside warm pita bread, but I used whole wheat pasta and some left-over beans.

*In the photo, you can see a greeny, thick drink. It is a smoothie, a liquid salad, vitamin bomb. Great, tasty drink made by my sister. Maybe I will post recipe for it in my next post. 🙂

Recipe for shoarma (take your attention to spices!):

– 500g of chicken breast,
– oil to fry,
– 3 crushed garlic cloves or 3 teaspoon of dried garlic
– 1 teaspoon of ground cinammon,
– 1 teaspoon of ground cardamom,
– 1 teaspoon of ground coliander,
– 1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg,
– 1/2 teaspon of fine cloves,
– 1 teaspoon of paprika,
– 2 teaspoon of dried onion,
– 1 teaspoon of cumin
– 1/2 teaspoon of salt
– 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper

Garlic sauce recipe:

– 3 tablespoons of natural yoghurt,
– 3 teaspoons of mayonaise
– 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
– 1 teaspoon of dried garlic

Like my friend Tabitha says – Beteavon! (bon appetit)

Skomentuj

